Jeff Gordon prepares for final road-course race at Watkins Glen

My NBC Sports story on Jeff Gordon’s final NASCAR road-course race, today at Watkins Glen.

NASCAR Talk

The second half of Jeff Gordon’s last Sprint Cup season sees the four-time champion visiting tracks as a competitor for the last time.

Each week Gordon is asked the same questions, just with different track names used.

Friday, he received those questions at Watkins Glen International, which also plays host to his final NASCAR event at a road course.

Gordon, who will retire after 23 seasons, takes his leave as the Sprint Cup’s all-time win leader on road courses with nine. The Hendrick Motorsports driver earned five wins at Sonoma Raceway and four at Watkins Glen.

But those winning memories are not the ones that linger for Gordon.

“I feel like I say this every weekend when I get asked about a track that I’m going to for the last time,” Gordon said Friday. “I seem to remember the things that got away more than I think of the ones that (ended) sitting…

View original post 692 more words

About Daniel McFadin

Writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in NASCAR, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

