Leonard Nimoy, 1931 – 2015

NimoyEveryone has their own Mount Rushmore.

I’m talking about the hypothetical mountain, located in the middle of nowhere in South Dakota that doesn’t have the faces of four presidents blasted and carved into its side.

The mountain we mentally anoint with create of our favorite actors, athletes, singers, etc., in their place.

I have a more specific Mount Rushmore.

My mountain bears the faces of  celebrities whose deaths will reduce me to a blubbering mess and the fetal position for days, maybe weeks.

On it are George Lucas, Harrison Ford, Steven Spielberg  and Tony Romo.

Not on it, because he’s worthy of his own mountain, was Leonard Nimoy, the man who portrayed Spock on “Star Trek” in film and TV for almost 50 years.

While I should have expected it when he was diagnosed with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, it was still news that stung when I swiped past it on Twitter this morning.

I let out a gasp and my left hand flew to my mouth.

It was a more visceral reaction than when Robin Williams died last September. My initial emotion then was pure disbelief.

As countless others have, I grew up on “Star Trek” in all of its variations, and Spock was a constant part of my childhood and the development of my imagination.

With his passing there are now just four surviving cast members from “Star Trek’s” original bridge crew: William Shatner, George Takei, Walter Koenig and Nichelle Nichols.

When I wasn’t watching “Star Trek it’s spin offs or the eight movies based off the Original Series (TOS), I was also reading  numerous books which continued the adventures of the U.S.S. Enterprise for countless pages.

At one point in junior high I also read Nimoy’s second autobiography, “I Am Spock.” I don’t remember much about it, but I feel the need to revisit it.

Others have shared far better words and sentiments about Nimoy and his impact on the history of science fiction, TV, the world and their own lives.

But Nimoy said it best with his final tweet, posted four days ago.

About Daniel McFadin

Writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Books, Fandom, Film, life, Media, Star Trek, television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

