The Soundtrack of Turning 24

They don’t write songs about being 24.

OK, unless they’re songs from 1999 by Chris Cornell or a band called The Promise Ring, there aren’t many songs about being two dozen years old.

This is what happens as you get older, I guess.

You’re in dire straights when you have to Google “songs about being 24” just to make sure there’s not an iconic, generation defining song your mind’s blanking on.

Also, Cornell’s “Preaching the End of the World” wins the award for cheapest music video ever made.

For the last 365 days  I had Blink 182’s 1999 song “What’s My Age Again?” to back my 23rd year.A month after turning 22 Taylor Swift granted me and other millennials the musical satisfaction of knowing what it was like to be said age.

The rest of the music industry is tailored to the whims of 15 to 21 year olds.

At first glance there isn’t anything really special about turning 24, a number most associated with Jack Baur and Jeff Gordon. You can legally do everything that isn’t a federal crime and you can still be on your parent’s health care plan.

Now I’m just marking time until I qualify for the senior discount at IHOP.

But this year is probably the biggest one so far. I finally enter the “real world.” No more schooling, no more internships. 2015 is the year I finally (hopefully) get my first full-time job.

Right now I have no idea where I’ll be in a month, let alone a year, when I hit the quarter-century mile marker. Exciting, right?

I just hope I can find a better song about being 25 than Jewel’s “Stephenville, TX” before then.

About Daniel McFadin

Writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in College, Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

