Roll with the Life Changes

A lot can change in 11 months.

In August 2013, there was quite a bit I hadn’t done career wise. I had never covered, let alone attended, a NBA or WNBA game. I had never written about a college football or basketball game that had any lasting impact outside the Sun Belt Conference.

Even though I hope to someday be a regular reporter in the auto racing world, I had never had the opportunity to write about IndyCar or NASCAR outside the confines of this meager blog.

A lot can change in 11 months. Especially my resume.

Eleven months ago there weren’t many publications I could have confidently submitted said resume and writing clips to and gotten favorable responses in return.

August 18, twenty-eight days from now, will be my first day as a fall intern with Sporting News.

There’ll be no more waking up to be in a classroom I’m paying to be in. No more writing for the dual purpose of furthering my craft and earning the best possible letter grade that no one, even me, will remember a year later.

Now I’ll be writing for the dual purpose of furthering my craft and engrossing the thousands of people who visit one website on a regular basis.

No pressure.

I’ll be living in Charlotte, N.C., for six months, the farthest distance-but not the longest time-I’ve been from my Arkansas home for more than two weeks.

I’m a firm believer in this practice, voiced by Charles Craig:

“It’s evolve or die, really, you have to evolve, you have to move on otherwise it just becomes stagnant.”

That’s why I went to college in Jonesboro, AR., five hours away from home and everyone I knew and loved.

It’s why after graduation, I didn’t apply for a job at any small-town newspapers in Arkansas and instead invested all of my hopes into being accepted into grad school in Indianapolis, IN., nine hours and three states away from home.

That’s why during the last two months I didn’t apply for a job back home. Partially because the kind of job I want is scarce in Arkansas, but primarily because backtracking at this point in my career would feel as if I’m settling.

It’s why I will call the 50th most walkable city in the Unites States my home for at least six months.

It’s why I’m embracing and rolling with the changes.

 

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Arkansas State, basketball, College, college-football, Indiana, Indianapolis, IndyCar, Journalism, Media, Memories, NASCAR, NBA, Pacers, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

