$200 Reviews: Preamble

    What’s a guy to do with his summer when he’s graduated from college and waiting to hear about his possible future in grad school?

   Simple. Go see a movie. A lot.

    Thanks to a very generous graduation gift from my grandmother, a $200 gift card to the Malco movie chain, I’ll be in the dark confines of a movie theater over the next three to four months than I have been in entire years. 

   I have a lot of catching up to do too. It’s the middle of May and I’ve only seen a grand total of seven films which were released this year. If I were to only spend the gift card at the Sunset Malco in Springdale, where I’ve been seeing movies since Junior High, I’d be able to see nearly 65 movies.

   But that number will be diminished since Sunset is now a second-run theater, playing movies that were released three to four months ago. I still have to deal with the big releases of “Man of Steel,” “Star Trek into Darkness,” the big question mark that is “The Wolverine” and more.

   That’s still a lot of movies. And I’ll be reviewing every single one in some fashion. Starting with a review of Tina Fey’s “Admission,” I’ll be running the gauntlet of films 2013 has to offer. 

Other upcoming movies:

  • “Side Effects”
  • “42”
  • “Star Trek Into Darkness”
  • “Mud”
  • “Oblivion”
  • “Pain and Gain”

So let’s get started shall we?

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in $200 Reviews, Memories, Movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

