Day 9: Wait for it…

The first week of school is always the calm before the storm.

No major assignments that need to be immediately turned in, no deadlines for articles. Nope, just the preparation for all of that.

In about two weeks is when the heat will start to rise and the marathon four months really start to kick in. But now it’s calm.

I’m writing a story on The Rouge’s Gallery, the local comic shop here in Jonesboro and how geek/nerd culture has become more main stream over the last few years. Spent about a hour and a half interviewing the stores new owners and its long time manager.

My favorite part about journalism is the one-on-one interview. I just like getting to know a person and a story over a long period of time, even though most of the time I don’t even use half the stuff from the interview. That story will hopefully run in the Herald next Thursday.

But tomorrow I’ll be going to see the new Arnold Schwarzenegger movie, “The Last Stand.” I can’t remember ever seeing an Arnold movie in theaters, though it’s entirely possible I saw “Batman & Robin” in theaters when I was 6. But I think I can be forgiven for sponging that experience from my memory banks.

So far I’ve read good buzz about the movie and I honestly don’t have high expectations for it. So hopefully, I’ll enjoy it even a little, but you’ll get to know all about my thoughts on it when I write a review for it. So get psyched.

 

Song of the Day

 

 

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

