Day 5: Well, that was fun

We did it. We won. Take that Kent State.

Though I have to feel a little sorry for the Flash fan base. Hadn’t been to a Bowl game in 40 years and  they came up short. Well, their time will come, just not just this year. It’s Arkansas State’s turn to bask in the glory for once.

Congrats to all of the ASU players, specifically the seniors. They’ve been through way too much in their four or five years at ASU. But it all paid off last night.

I got to celebrate with a large pack of ASU students and fans at Pats and the Piano Bar on Dauphin. It will be awhile before I forget the cacophony of excited noise that filled them. This is something I think ALL of us needed. I wish the night could have lasted a few more days.

Here’s a link to my game story for the bowl game, my final football game story for the Herald. I’m sure I’ll write a few more feature and news stories this semester, but there’s nothing quite like writing a winning game story. .

http://www.asuherald.com/breaking-the-cycle-arkansas-state-beats-kent-state-17-13-in-godaddy-com-bowl-1.2803431

Just how meta is it to be watching the bowl replay while in a bar full of the players who were in it?

About Daniel McFadin

Writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Arkansas State, College, Football, Journalism, Memories, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

