Happy New Year

Well. Here we go. It’s a new year. 2013 to be exact. 

The world didn’t end and the United States didn’t go over the fiscal cliff….right? I’m getting mixed signals on that one. 

I haven’t made a post on here since September when I reviewed the movie “Looper.” Which came out on DVD and Blu-Ray this week. Check out my review and then check out the movie. But enough about that.

With every new calendar we all make promises to ourselves. Rather than make the promise to gain 10 pounds – yes, I said gain – or to quit picking my nose (that’s a never ending battle), I’m simply going to try and post a blog post every one of  the 365 days that 2013 holds. That’s easy right?

So you’ll get my thoughts on mostly movies, sports and if I’m feeling gracious what’s going on in my life. I graduate from Arkansas State in five months, so things are definitely going to be changing for me this year.

So I’ll start off this experiment by leaving with you my favorite movies of 2012, in no particular order. I think the ratio of good to bad movies was pretty good this year, most of the bottom feeders were released early in the year, so the last few months at the cinema have been pretty enjoyable. 

Top 10 movies of 2012

The Dark Knight Rises

The Avengers

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

Looper

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Chronicle

Skyfall

The Cabin in the Woods

Ted

21 Jump Street

Honorable Mentions

Liberal Arts

Argo

ParaNorman

Silver Linings Playbook

Sleepwalk with Me

So there you have it. The movies that caught my eye, tugged on my hear and made my bank account less than envious.

While there was a lot to like in 2012, this year has a lot to be excited for: Man of Steel, Iron Man 3, Thor 2, Gangster Squad, Star Trek into Darkness, Zero Dark Thirty (for everyone outside of the coastal cities), Anchorman 2, A Good Day to Die Hard, the re-releases of the last two Star Wars prequels and Jurassic Park, G.I. Joe 2, 42, This is the End and a lot more.

So what were your favorites in 2012? What’s got you amped in 2013? Let me know in the comments. 364 days to go.

 

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

