Reaching the Summit

     I’m sitting in the media room of the Sun Belt basketball Tournament in Hot Springs, Arkansas. It’s relatively quiet right, except for the tapping of keyboards as journalists from all over the Sun Belt conference region, from Denver, Colorado to Boca Faton, Florida.

     It’s the second day of the tournament and the Lady Red Wolves have won both of their games so far and will okay in the Semi Finals tomorrow. The Mens team hasn’t even played a game yet, and won’t untill  8:45 tonight. Yeah, It’s going to be a late night for me and my Herald colleague Sara Krimm.

    This is the biggest sporting event I’ve covered before and I’m excited. The only place I’ve been where there were this many journalists was the conference I went to in Louisville last year. Hopefully I’ll be able to stay for the rest of the tournament since I missed the Lady Red Wolves first two games.

    Hot Springs is a nice city; I’ve only seen it from my car so I’m going to try to see as much of it as possible while I’m here.

About Daniel McFadin

Writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Arkansas State, College, Journalism, Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

