End of an Era: 19 going on 20

    This is it folks. The last day of the greatest chapter of my life so far is now under way. I’ve already graduated from High School and I won’t be walking down the graduation aisle  in college till 2013. So what day is it? It’s my last day as a teenager. I’ll be turning the big 20 tomorrow. Two decades of being me.

      What is 20? You can’t do anything you weren’t already able to do at 18, and your still 365 days away from the legal drinking age. So either it’s the purgatory year or I can proudly say I’ve been alive for *drum roll*…7,305 days.

      In that time we’ve had four Presidents, four armed conflicts and most importantly, four different actors have played Batman. Recently, I’ve become more aware of not how old I’m getting, but of how much time has passed in the last few years. I don’t feel old (yet), I just feel like displaced from where I was 3-4 years ago.

    I have to remind myself that I’m a sophomore in college, not a sophomore in High School. Though some days I’d give anything to back then again, 2006 was great year. “Heroes” had just premiered on television and I’d discovered my love for the theatre.

   Fast forward almost 5 years later . “Heroes” has been canceled (stupid ratings) and I’ve changed my major from theatre to journalism. Is it bad, that I judge time by television and movies? It’s been 15 year since “Space Jam” came out in 1996 (Michael Jordan came out of retirement twice since then, Brett Favre three times). It’s been 12 years since “The Phantom Menace” was released, nine years since “Spider-Man” and six years since “Batman Begins”.

     In the wide world of sports, it’s been 15 years since the Dallas Cowboys won the Super Bowl, 13 years since Dale Earnhardt won his only Daytona 500, 10 years since Earnhardt died in the Daytona 500 and Arkansas beat Ole Miss in 7 over times of football.

   This year also marks the 10th anniversary of 9/11. I wonder when we’ll get to a point where most people have to be reminded what that day means, maybe we;ve already passed it.

   In the last 20 years, I was born during Desert Storm, lived through the Clinton scandal, the O.J. trial, the Y2K scare, the boy band craze, Britney Spears when she was hot, Britney Spears when she was a bald lunatic, the creation of Facebook, SARS, West Nile, Bird and Swine Flu, the recount of 2000, the Miracle on Markham, the Patriots being upset by the Giants in the Super Bowl and the event that was The Dark Knight.

   But my last day as a teenager won’t be completely unforgettable. I’ll be spending it watching Super Bowl XLV. I’ll get to spend it with some of my friends that I’ve made over the last two years and add it to the growing list of Super Sunday memories. But hopefully I won’t be adding a Steelers win to that list.

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Arkansas Razorbacks, College, Dallas Cowboys, Football, High School, Movies, NASCAR, NFL, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

