Burning Love

     No, this post isn’t about romance or love (though you never know what I’ll write when Valentines Day comes around), it’s just about my return to school for the spring (yet it feels like deep winter) semester at college. The title is a reference to the Elvis song “Burning Love” which I haven’t even attempted to get out of my head since hearing it Sunday while driving back to Jonesboro.

    Today was the schools official first day of class after Monday was a snow day. Two classes in to the second half of the year and this semester is already looking like its going to be a mountain of a climb.

    This afternoon might be the last time I get any free time for at least a week. The very first thing we did in my news writing class today was a spelling quiz. I only got 27 of the 50 words right. Thats after I had to start over after I realized that you had to  cross out the misspelled word and not circle the correct word.

    Also, I don’t have any of my textbooks. They just arrived at my house in Springdale and my Mom is trying to mail them here as I type this (also, Just What I Needed by the Cars is playing on Pandora). So its going to be hard to follow along in my Intro to Fiction and Journalism related classes with out those books.

    But the negative aside, I’m ready to get this semester started. Last night, I watched the National Championship between Auburn and Oregon at Wings to Go with my friends Sam and Ben. The outcome of the game wasnt what we wanted but it was a heck of a game. Coming down to the last two seconds, the game was decided by an Auburn field goal from the two yard line.

    I hate that the football season, college anyway, is over already. The excitement and expectations of September seem like they were present just last week. But luckily we have a month of NFL action ahead of us before the Super Bowl is played in Dallas.  I was 3-1 in my picks last weekend with the only one that went wrong being the Chiefs – Ravens game.  Here are my picks for the Divisional games this weekend

Packers @ Falcons: Falcons

Seahawks @ Bears: Seahawks

Ravens @ Steelers: Ravens

Jets @ Patriots: Jets

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in BCS, College, Football, NFL, SEC Football, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

