Deep in the Heart of Texas on Thanksgiving

You know it’s Thanksgiving when the men in the house are watching football and the women are busy looking at coupons. That’s the scene I found myself  , November 25th. I’m in Weatherford, Texas, where my great-aunt and uncle live. For the rest of this blog post I’ll just refer to it as Dallas

I used to live in Lewisville, Texas,  another suburb of Dallas. I lived there until I was nine years old when we moved to Northwest Arkansas during the summer of 2000. Now it seems the only time I get to visit the Lone Star state is on Thanksgiving or the occasional family vacation. But there is a bright side to this.

As a die-hard Dallas Cowboys fan, this is the one time of the year I can watch and cheer my face off for the Cowboys while in the safe confines of  Texas, where no one will judge you for the star on your sleeve.

This is also the biggest and most important Turkey Day game for the Cowboys in a long time. After starting the season 1-7, the Cowboys are on a two game win streak against the Giants and the other team that’s been playing on Thanksgiving for eternity: The Detroit Lions. Now they face the defending Super Bowl champions, the New Orleans Saints.

I’m not going to go in-depth on the game, but this is a game the Cowboys have to win if they want any chance at the a wild card birth in the playoffs. This is also a rematch of the game last year where the Cowboys ended the Saints hopes of an undefeated season, upsetting them at home at the Superdome.

The Saints have a lot of injured players, among them Darren Sharper, Jeremy Shocky and Reggie Bush. who is expected to play for the first time since injuring his leg against San Francisco.

I expect the rejuvenated Cowboys under Jason Garrett to take advantage of the injuries and win by a touchdown. I do have concerns about the Cowboys secondary, which  gave up over 300 yards against the Giants and 289 against the Lions.

While others look forward to the food on Thanksgiving, my mind is always on the 3:15 kick off for the Cowboys (and family to). One of my earliest memories of the Cowboys is listening to the Thanksgiving game against the Vikings on the radio in 1998. As a seven-year old, I was especially upset when the Cowboys lost the coin toss (it was a dark time to be a Cowboys fan).

But the Thanksgiving day game is once again important after years with blowout wins against teams like the Raiders, Seahawks and Buccaneers. The Cowboys are now the under dog, but they’re an under dog with a chance. Happy Thanksgiving every one.

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Dallas Cowboys, Football, Memories, NFL, Sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

