The Press Box

     Today is the last home game of the season for the Arkansas State Red Wolves against the Western Kentucky Hilltoppers. Since I write for the sports section of the Herald here at Arkansas State, I’ve had the fortune to be able to cover all of the Red Wolves home football games from high atop the press box of ASU Stadium. It has an amazing god like view of the entire stadium, alot better than the one I had down in the student section my freshman year.

     The first game I covered was the Arkansas State vs Louisiana-Monroe, and I was more than excited to be there. Aside for the view, we have access to to the internet, so while watching the Red Wolves play, we can also watch the other games taking place around the country. Theres also free food served through out the game, I’ve had more than my fair share of hot dogs in the four games I’ve covered.

     But despite all the perks that come with being able to sit in my seat at the far right on the front row of the press box, their is one set back. Before every game, an eldery man that sits on the upper row comes on the PA system that he will later relay play by play stats to the journalists on.

      He tells us the usual bunch of rules that come with being in the press box: The elevator is held three minutes before the end of each half for coaches, relay any questions to the Sports Information Director and the biggest one of all…”no cheering in the press box.”

      Every time I hear that, I die a little on the inside. I know that in journalism you’re supposed to be objective and not have a bias when telling a story. But it’s taken me awhile to get use to it. I’ve lost count of the number of times that the Red Wolves have had a huge play and I’ve started to pump my fist in clebration, only to quickly turn it into a back scratching hand.

     It’s in these situation that I wonder if my enthusiasm for sports will be supressed so much, that I’m no longer excited about game day. What if the day comes when ASU wins on a hail mary pass to beat a BCS automatic qualifying team like Virginia Tech or like a few years ago against Memphis, and I just don’t care.

   I know it sounds bleak, but it’s just something aq think about every time I hear those six words. I never want to become jaded about my job. I still want to be excited for the game years down the road.

   But if that ever does happen, it’s a long way down the road. Today, i’ll be in the press box, eating a hot dog while twittering about the Red Wolves last home game of the season. Hopefully, I’ll be scrtaching my back all day.

About Daniel McFadin

NASCAR writer for NBCSports.com. Former Sporting News intern. Graduated from IUPUI in Indianapolis with a master in sports journalism in 2014 and from Arkansas State University in 2013 with a degree in Journalism. Originally from Lewisville, Texas, now in Fort Worth. Ask me if I like Star Wars. I dare you.
This entry was posted in Arkansas State, Football, Journalism, Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

